112Unified Emergency Number

126General Inspection

2 41 42 42ერთიანი მომსახურების ცენტრი

EU-Georgia Readmission Agreement

Agreement between the European Union and Georgia on the readmission of persons residing without authorisation

The Readmission Agreement between Georgia and the EU entered into force on March 1, 2011. In accordance with the April 26, 2011 President's Decree, Ministry of Internal Affairs of Georgia was named as a competent authority for the implementation of the agreement. Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Justice and Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Accommodation and Refugees were tasked to provide necessary assistance to the competent authority when such need will arise. Based on the President's Decree, Minister of Internal Affairs issued an order, which amended the Patrol Police Regulations to accommodate additional functions under the agreement.

Joint ministerial order of aforementioned agencies has been issued on March 12, 2012, which specifies the obligations and functions of each agency in detail. In order to fulfill these obligations, the separate unit of international relations was created within the Patrol Police and the Standard Operating Procedures for the implementation of the readmission agreement has been approved by the special order of the Director of Patrol Police Department.

At this stage the procedures have been initiated with an aim of concluding implementing protocols to the readmission agreement.