112Unified Emergency Number

126General Inspection

2 41 42 42Unified Service Center of Patrol Police

12 72
2 41 91 91Service Agency

Association agreement between Georgia and the European Union

Negotiations between Georgia and the EU on the association agreement were officially launched in 2010. On 27 June 2014, “Association agreement between the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and their Member states, of on the one part, and Georgia, of the other part” was signed. By signing the Association agreement relation between the EU and Georgia were brought to a qualitatively new level. The Association Agreement and access to the Deep Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA) foresees far reaching political and economic integration with the EU by significantly deepening political and economic ties, bringing Georgia closer to the EU.

Association Agreement officially entered into force on July 1, 2016, after the EU Foreign Affairs Council announced its decision on completing the ratification procedure.

Further, the EU and Georgia have agreed an Association Agenda, defining a set of priorities for cooperation ensuring the implementation of the Association Agreement, for the period of 2017-2020.

The Association Agreement could be divided into three parts:

  • Political cooperation (Preamble, Titles I-III; VIII);
  • Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA) (Title IV);
  • Sectoral cooperation (Titles V-VII).

Within the framework of the Association Agreement and the Association Agenda, the following issues fall within the competence of the Ministry of Internal Affairs:

  • The Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP);
  • Law enforcement cooperation;
  • Personal data protection;
  • Migration and asylum;
  • Border management;
  • Fight against organised crime;
  • Driving licenses;
  • Civil protection.

In order to ensure effective implementation of the Association Agenda and the Association agreement, Government of Georgia annually elaborates National Action Plan, which is adopted by the Government Decree.

Representatives of the Ministry of Internal Affairs participate in the following committee and sub-committee meetings established within the framework of the Association Agreement:

  • The EU-Georgia Parliamentary Association Committee (PAC) meeting;
  • The EU- Georgia Association Committee meeting;
  • The Sub-committee on Justice, Freedom and Security (JFS) meeting;
  • The Sub-committee on Economic and Sector Cooperation meeting.
  • Annual Human Rights Dialogue