112Unified Emergency Number

126General Inspection

2 41 42 42Unified Service Center of Patrol Police

12 72
2 41 91 91Service Agency

European Neighborhood Policy (ENP)

European Neighborhood Policy was initiated in 2004, since the EU enlargement process, causing the significant change of the EU's external borders. Therefore, the European Union has decided to have closer connections with its new immediate neighbors to its Eastern and Southern borders. The ENP governs EU’s relations with 16 partner countries:

Southern Neighbourhood: Algeria, Morocco Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia;
Eastern Neighbourhood: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

On June 14, 2004, based on the Council of the European Union resolution Georgia has become a member of the ENP. On November 14, 2006, the EU-Georgia European Neighborhood Policy action plan was adopted, which has being annually implemented.

As a response to the turbulent domestic developments within the ENP countries (revolutions and destabilization in Southern Neighborhood, armed conflicts in Eastern Neighborhood), in 2015 European Neighbourhood Policy was reviewed. The main goal of the reviewed ENP was, to foster stability, security and prosperity within the partner countries, in line with the Global Strategy for the EU’s foreign and security.

Renewed ENP is based on 4 major political dimensions:

  • Good governance, democracy, rule of law and human rights;
  • Economic development for sustainability;
  • Security;
  • Migration and mobility.

Under the ENP following issues falling within the competence of the Ministry of Internal Affairs are:

  • Fight against trans-border crime;
  • Fight against organized crime;
  • Fight against cybercrime;
  • Cooperation within the EU’s Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP);
  • Fight against irregular migration;
  • Border management;
  • International law enforcement cooperation.